The 2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, the Nobel Prize in Physics, and the Nobel Prize in Chemistry have been announced, with the awards for Literature, Peace and Economics to be announced over the next three days.

This year, the Prize in Medicine was awarded jointly to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young “for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm”.

The Prize in Chemistry was given to Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson “for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution”.

The Prize in Physics was divided, one half awarded to Rainer Weiss, the other half jointly to Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne. Dr. Weiss, Dr. Thorne and Dr. Barish were the architects and leaders of LIGO, the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory, the instrument that detected gravitational waves in February 2016, verifying the predictions of Albert Einstein a century ago. In announcing the award, the Royal Swedish Academy called theirs “a discovery that shook the world.” The NY Times further discusses this work.